something for everyone
[6.12.02 * 10:35 am]

Why is the term "polling" always greeted with blank looks and "Huh?"s? Is it that uncommon or bizarre a word? People always ask, "So what does your company do?" and my response is, "We do polling." I then clarify, because their response is always, unfailingly, "What?": "Like, ya know, SURVEYS?"

I like to take it to the level of the people. Perhaps more correctly, the proles, the peons, and the pricks.

I like alliteration.

Now then, here is an article everyone should read. It is all about HOW TO BLOCK POPUP ADS. I put that in bold so that Google would be able to pick it up more easily and disseminate the information far and wide, all across the globe. Also, to get the attention of you slackers napping in the corner. And finally, because popup ads suck and must be destroyed through the use of the very technology that created them. Viva la internet!

Next up, I want to know how a teacher can afford to buy a co-op for $59,000. Actually, the article says her daddy helped her out, but nevertheless, $59,000!

I guess I should be glad that teachers are living so well, as I will hopefully be joining their ranks and clawing my way out of full-time receptiondom. Wow, how very "feminine" of me. Next thing you know I'll be barefoot and pregnant, although I think my boyfriend promised his firstborn to his roommate the other day...

Finally, I would like to regale you all with my latest Free Will Astrology prediction:

"I love how undignified some spectators allow themselves to be at professional sports events. With no concern for how ridiculous others might think them, they wear giant foam-rubber hats resembling cheese wedges. They paint their bellies with the home team's insignia and go shirtless in sub-freezing weather. They scream nonsense words and make strange faces and wave their arms in frantic salutes. I suspect that some of these folks might be bodhisattvas in disguise--wise tricksters modeling the beauty and power of being oblivious to appearing foolish. I sometimes recommend this approach to life--especially now that you're in a phase of your astrological cycle when it's crucial not to take anything too seriously."

This, I find, is very bad advice. Not the fear of looking foolish; that's cool. The idea of telling ME not to take anything TOO SERIOUSLY, however, is definitely a mistake, as I am already teetering on the brink of re-embracing my Fuck It philosophy in response to the way I deal with my job. Although I dearly love being able to buy myself yuppie coffee every morning (and clearly do because I don't give a damn about where Starfucks gets its coffee or how many people in the third world are getting paid two cents a month to pick those beans), I suppose it would not be a good thing to be unemployed for the next two months when I am supposed to be saving up for my ultimate descent into Masters Degree Poverty.

Anyway, I think that's about it. I feel this entry really has something for everyone, except possibly the ravers, the poseurs, the colonial Williamsburg geeks/hipsters, and the homeless, who have all now been covered by this very blanket statement. Thank you, and good afternoon.

CREDITS:
powered by d*land